• Red Oak Middle School honor roll

    “A” honor roll for quarter 2

    8th grade – Ellen R. Fellers, Evan L. Mellott. 7th grade –Grace M. Blomstedt, Kathryn A. Walker. 6th grade – Leatha R. Bennett, Breann M. Berkey, Bailey N. Bruce, Dylan R. Graber, Julia L. Hacker, Murphy A. Porter, Alyssa M. Wilkins.

    High honor roll for quarter 2

  • Students invited to participate in 2010 Junior Duck Stamp Contest

    The Neal Smith National Wildlife Refuge is now accepting entries for the 2010 Iowa Junior Duck Stamp Contest. Entries must be postmarked by March 15, 2010. Judging will be held at noon on March 24, and is open to the public.

    The Junior Duck Stamp Program uses both conservation and design principles to teach wetland habitat and waterfowl biology to students in kindergarten through high school. The program provides an opportunity for students to artistically express their knowledge of the diversity, interdependence and beauty of wildlife.

  • ISU graduates

    AMES - At Iowa State University’s winter commencement ceremonies, 1,560 students received degrees.

    Sarah Ann Kloewer Pett, MFA (Master of Fine Arts), English; Nathan Daniel Taylor, BS (Bachelor of Science), Marketing; Jessica Marie Varilek,, BS (Bachelor of Science), Management; from Red Oak.

    Jeremiah H. Sturgeon, BA (Bachelor of Arts), Interdisciplinary Studies; from Stanton.

    Joshua Anthony Williams, BS (Bachelor of Science), Agricultural Business; Joshua Anthony Williams, Economics; from Villisca.

  • Second Annual SWCC Pink Zone event planned for late-February

    CRESTON — Last February, the Southwestern Community College (SWCC) women’s basketball team raised $3,500 for the Kay Yow/WBCA Cancer Fund™ through the 2009 Pink Zone® initiative. This was the highest amount raised by a school in the junior/community college category. There were 81 junior/community colleges participating. SWCC will once again join in the fight against breast cancer on Feb. 24, 2010, 6:30 p.m., in the Student Center gymnasium. The Spartans will host Iowa Central Community College in a 2010 WBCA Pink Zone® event.

  • Area residents named to Iowa Western's fall honor roll

    COUNCIL BLUFFS - Iowa Western Community College officials announced that approximately 611 students have been named to the President’s Honor Roll due to their academic achievement during the 2009 fall term.

    The following Red Oak area residents were named to the President’s Honor Roll:

    Red Oak: Anthony J. Drogo, pre-engineering; Amanda L. Erickson, psychology; John T. Govig, computer science; Rebecca S. Simons, human services: pre-social work; Rebecca J. Springer, medical assistant; Laurie A. Van Scoy, education: grades K-12.

  • Engineering at its best

    Stanton High School students were privileged to have current students from MIT’s (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) women in science and engineering program present information aimed at exposing high school girls to career paths within science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

  • Truman State University Fall 2009

    KIRKSVILLE - Truman State University has released the Fall 2009 Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs’ List. To qualify for this list, an undergraduate student must attain a semester 3.50-3.99 grade point average and must complete 12 semester hours of credit.

  • Red Oak High School 65th Reunion

    The reunion of Red Oak High School class of 1944 was held at the Red Coach Inn and Restaurant Sept. 19, 2009. Thirteen classmates gathered for an evening of dinning and reminiscing. The members and their spouses met again Sept. 20, 2009, for breakfast at the Firehouse Restaurant. Front row from left: Doris (Wynn) Fort of Red Oak, Carolyn (Wetterlind) McKay of Red Oak, Charlene (Wood) Corrin of Reedley, Calif., Mary Frances (Wombolt) Chapman of Sioux City.

  • 2010 Robert D. Blue Scholarship Application is available online

    DES MOINES — State Treasurer Michael Fitzgerald announced today that the application for the 2010 Robert D. Blue Scholarship is available online at www.rdblue.org. All Iowa residents who plan to attend college in Iowa for the 2010-2011 school year are eligible to apply.

  • Eisenbraun graduates

    Air Force Airman Alexander C. Eisenbraun graduated from basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base, San Antonio, Texas.

    The airman completed an intensive, eight-week program that included training in military discipline and studies, Air Force core values, physical fitness, and basic warfare principles and skills. Airmen who complete basic training earn four credits toward an associate in applied science degree through the Community College of the Air Force.