• Red Oak native named to Homecoming Court at AIB

    Bryant Blay of Red Oak has been named to Homecoming Court at AIB College of Business in Des Moines.

    Blay was voted in recently by fellow students to AIB’s Homecoming Court. Students voted and then selected the top 10 vote-getters before selecting a Homecoming King and Queen.

    Blay is majoring in Accounting at AIB.

  • Stanton honor roll

    Stanton High School 1st quarter honor roll:

    A Honor Roll

  • Students selected for All-State music festival

    Four students of Red Oak High School have attained the highest individual honor available to Iowa high school musicians by being selected as member of the 2009 All-State Chorus and Band.

    Selected for the All-State Chorus were: Brittany Carlson, daughter of Kerry and Elaine Carlson; Katherine Jardon, daughter of Joseph and Mary Jardon; Kelsey Myers, daughter of Allan and Jane Myers. And selected for the All-State Band was: Arik Ostler, son of Steve and Marlys Ostler.

  • Villisca honor roll

    Villisca High School 1st quarter honor roll:

    High Honor Roll

  • Essex honor roll

    Essex Community Schools 1st quarter honor rolls:

    A Honor Roll

    4th grade – Kelsi Leininger. 5th grade – Anna Carlson and Devan Gray. 6th grade – Jordan Nelson. 7th grade – KyBerly Graham and Amber Ohnmacht. 8th grade – Seana Perkins. 9th grade – Matthew Davis. 10th grade – Quentin Bangston. 11th grade – Tate Jensen. 12th grade – Mitchell Nicholas.

    AB Honor Roll

  • East Mills Honor Roll

    East Mills Middle School 1st quarter honor roll

    Principal’s Honor Roll

    5th grade – Christian Baer, Zena Courtier, Emmy Duysen, Noah Hillyer, Makayla Hunt, Claire Huston, Riley McKee, Calder Rasco and Hanna York. 6th grade – Georgia Androy, Ashleigh Bainter, Benjamin Christensen and Alexander Hall. 8th grade – Emma Christensen and Jacob Schafer.

    Gold Honor Roll

  • Red Oak teacher posts project at DonorsChoose.org

    The online education charity DonorsChoose.org is highlighting a project request for classroom materials submitted by John Gambs, a 10th grade teacher at Red Oak High School in Red Oak. The project is titled “Global Study for a Global World” and it will provide history and geography resources and experiences for 100 students to better prepare them for college and/or college-level work.

    Gambs is among tens of thousands of teachers across the country who are turning to DonorsChoose.org to get the learning materials they and their students need.

  • Fall Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society induction

    The Beta Beta Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society of Iowa Western Community College-Clarinda Campus held its fall induction on Oct. 22, on the Clarinda Campus.

    Twelve new members were inducted.

    To become a member of Phi Theta Kappa a student must attain a 3.5 grade point average and have taken at least 12 credit hours of class work towards an associate degree.

  • Red Oak Honor Roll

    Red Oak Middle School 1st quarter honor roll

    All A Honor Roll

    6th grade – Breann Berkey, Bailey Bruce, Breanna Craig, Julia Hacker, Angela Mahoney, Maria Pendleton, Murphy Porter, Hannah Shalters, Quinn Sheldon and Alyssa Wilkins. 7th grade – Grace Blomstedt and Kate Walker. 8th grade – Paige Clark, Ellen Fellers and Evan Mellott.

    High Honor Roll

  • Cabbage awarded scholarship

    aduate of Stanton High School, is the recipient of an Indian Hills Community College Foundation General Fund Scholarship.

    Cabbage is the son of Risa Sederburg and Steve Cabbage of Villisca.

    He is enrolled in the Diesel Power Systems Technology program on the Ottumwa campus.

    The Indian Hills Foundation was created with the goal of providing scholarships to help deserving students enhance their lives through college education.