• College Graduations

    Dordt College

    Jennifer Allen of Red Oak, was among the 355 graduates of Dordt College who received diplomas at the 2017 commencement ceremony May 5. Allen graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Theatre Arts with an emphasis in Design and Technical Theatre.

    Central College

    Central College seniors graduated May 13, with 238 students participating in commencement.

    Local Central College graduates include:

    • Collin Strickland of Stanton.

    • John Walker of Red Oak.

  • Honor Roll

    Approximately 520 students have been named to the Iowa Western Community College president’s honor roll for the 2017 Spring term. Students named to the president’s honor roll must be carrying at least 12 academic credit hours and attain a grade point average of at least 3.5 on a scale of 4.0.

    The following local students were named to the 2017 spring honor roll:

    • Clarinda: Mark Dunn, computers: network and system administration; Jordan Landess, practical nursing; Brittany McClarnon, management and human resources; Melissa Mullins, accounting.

  • Dean’s List

    Valerie Newhouse, President of Iowa Lakes Community College, has released the spring honors list of full-time students (12 credits or more) who have demonstrated academic excellence by earning a grade point average of 3.25 (based on a 4.00) or higher.

    Spring semester students who have achieved a 3.25 grade point average or better are recognized by inclusion on the dean’s list.

    • James Krajicek, Malvern, was named to the dean’s list. 

  • Dean’s List

    More than 8,700 Iowa State University students have been recognized for outstanding academic achievement by being named to the spring semester 2017 dean’s list.

    Students named to the dean’s list must have earned a grade point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.00 scale while carrying a minimum of 12 credit hours of graded course work.

    Area students earing this honor are:

    • Emerson: Evan L. Mellott, 4, Agricultural Engineering.

    • Henderson: Grant Isaac Keast, 3, Management,

  • Honor Rolls

    The Office of the Registrar at Northwest Missouri State University has announced the names of students named to the academic or president’s honor roll at the end of the 2017 spring trimester.

    To be included on the academic honor roll, a student must carry a minimum of 12 credit hours and attain a grade-point average of 3.5 or above on a 4.00 scale. Students named to the president’s honor roll have attained a perfect 4.00 GPA for the trimester.

    Area students named to the academic honor roll include:

    • Elliott: Shandy B. Guffey.

  • Dean’s List/President’s List

    The following area students were named to the spring 2017 dean’s list at the Iowa State University College of Business. The Iowa State University College of Business dean’s list honors students who have earned a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

    • Grant Keast, Henderson, is studying management.

    • Nolan Black, Red Oak, is studying accounting.

    • Jennalynn Johnson, Essex, is studying apparel, merchandising, and design.

  • Southwestern Community College

    Dean’s and president’s honor lists for the 2017 spring semester at Southwestern Community College in Creston. Full-time students who obtain a 3.50 or greater grade point average during a semester qualify for the president’s honor list, while full-time students who obtain a 3.00 grade point average or above during a semester  qualify for the dean’s honor list.

    Area students named to the dean’s list include:

  • Dean's List

    Two area students were among those Morningside College Provost Dr. William C. Deeds recently named to the dean’s list for the spring semester of the 2016-17 academic year.

    The dean’s list recognizes students who achieve a 3.67 grade point average or better and complete at least 12 credits of coursework with no grade below a “C-.”

    Morningside College is located in Sioux City.

    Brittany N. Baumfalk, a senior from Henderson, is majoring in elementary education teaching and special education teaching.

  • SWV High School Honor Roll

    9th grade: Delaney Dalton, Jordyn Figgins, Evan Fleharty, Adam Joseph Harris, Raymond Harris, Anna Inman, Olivia Jacobs, Rylee Jacobs, Isabella Johnson, Emily Lauer, Garrett Marn, Allison Marshall, Kayley Myers, Mackenzie Rice, Jillian Simmons, Robyn Steeve, Abigail Wetzel.

  • Honor Roll

    Red Oak Middle School Honor Roll

    6th grade: Dante Baucom, Aiden Bruce, Lainey DeVries, Nora Dougherty, Chloe Edie, Sam Fields, Michelle Grass, Tessa Rolenc, Ashley Wilkins.

    7th grade: Camryn Bass, Aedynn Graham, Delaney Hall, Reese Jackson, Trinity LaMar, Lennon O’Neal, Lindsey Porter, Stephany Ramos, Gannon Sallach, Bradley Sifford, Sebastian Vasquez.

    8th grade: Madison Bruce, Araina Brummett, Chloe DeVries, Hannah Gray, Ethan Horn, Alexa McCunn, Rhenn Rolenc.

    Quarter 4 High honor roll