• School Board Recognition Week May 10-16

    On April 27, at the school board meeting, Tom Pratt from Orschlens signed a proclamation for Iowa School Board Recognition Week.

  • SWCC Annual Business Day Contest

    Stanton High School participated in SWCC’s 30th annual business day contests on April 16. The number of participants from Stanton was down from previous years. Six out of Stanton’s seven seniors finished in second or third place in two out of the three contests they participated in.

  • Shearer and Uherka inducted into Omicron Delta Kappa

    Krystal Shearer, daughter of Robert Shearer of Emerson, and Kelsey Uherka, daughter of Richard Uherka and Lynn Reynolds of Stanton, were inducted into Omicron Delta Kappa on April 15 at Morningside College.

    Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) is a national leadership honor society recognizing the encouraging superior scholarship, leadership and exemplary character.

    Shearer, an English major, graduated from Nishna Valley High School and Uherka, a mathematics major, graduated from Stanton High School, both in 2007.

  • Top scholars in all college programs praised in April 8 reception

    Kirkwood Community College took an afternoon to honor their best and brightest on April 8. An afternoon reception and program recognized 151 current students as the Outstanding Student class of 2009. Kirkwood President Mick Starcevich and academic leaders honored the group in a reception at the Kirkwood Center for Continuing Education on the Cedar Rapids campus.

  • IWCC to host Techdaze Summer Camp

  • East Mills teacher recognized

    MALVERN — An East Mills School District teacher is among the first to receive the Charles E. Lakin Outstanding Teacher Award. Wendelin Miller, a fourth-grade instructor at Chantry Elementary School, received the award Nov. 18 along with Jeff Schoening, a music instructor in Treynor. The award was presented by KMA Radio, Charles E.

  • Red Oak High School releases first-quarter honor roll

    RED OAK — Red Oak High School recently released its honor rolls for the first quarter of the 2008-09 school year. Here are the students making the grade for:   Honor Roll 12th-grade — Shelby E. Ayres, Michael R. Crouse, Nick G. Crouse, Rochelle L. Cummins, Cam C. Deter, Rachel A. Douglas, Shannon L. Dumler, Alex C. Eisenbraun, Amanda L. Erickson, Bradley C. Euken, Morgan C. Fenton, Kyle C. Funderburk, Rebekah A. Gettler, Morgan R. Harris, Andrew C. Hayes, Ashley L. Hrabik, Gage E. Huff, Kaylin R. Jarrett, Ellen J. Johnson, Austin J.

  • Essex Community Schools release first-quarter honor roll

    ESSEX — Essex Community Schools have released the first-quarter honor rolls for students in grades four through 12. Students making the honor rolls are: • A Honor Roll — Seana Perkins, seventh-grade; Quentin Bangston, ninth-grade; Aaron Burns and Tate Jensen, 10th-grade; and Gabrielle tuck and Emily Wenstrand, 12th-grade. • A-B Honor Roll — Luke Allen, Ciara Brunison, Anna Carlson, Gunnar Glasgo, Devan Gray, Kaitlyn Kelley, Nathaniel Martin, Alex Stripe and Jaymn Vandusen, fourth-grade; Alex Daiey, Ausha Gay, Ian Isaacson,

  • Two students named to Southwest Iowa Honor Band

    CLARINDA — Two Red Oak Middle School students have been selected to represent the area as part of the Southwest Iowa Honor Band. Seventh-graders Laura Butz and Maggie Bennett will participate in the band playing the clarinet and mallets, respectively. They were selected to the honor band during auditions Nov. 1 at Clarinda Middle School. More than 700 students from throughout the region auditioned.

    The honor band performed at Lewis Central Middle School on Nov 14.

  • Red Oak Middle School Third Quarter Honor Roll